Planned Parenthood

Of all the things that happened today, you might be most interested to hear about my visit to Planned Parenthood. First of all, I always feel suspicious of free clinics, as if they are going to find a way to deny me service. However, in this case, they did all they could to help me. There’s only been one instance in which I could ever complain about Planned Parenthood. And that was only because they were denying me service because I was too responsible and came in two months in a row. This time the woman called me up and told me I was over-qualified for the free service because of my income. But then with her assistance, I realized I had put the wrong amount down… “wrong amount.” Anyway, into the room we go and I tell them I missed my period the last three months. Oh my gosh, no I didn’t. I was just there to get tested. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not even having sex. I just prefer being responsible and knowing my status, and keeping that knowledge recent.

So she starts asking me the standard questions. I look over and see a plastic vagina! I said “Oh, that’s what they look like!” She laughed and said no. I said “I don’t think I ever would have seen one otherwise.” She laughed again. I enjoy making people laugh. It breaks the ice and I’m sure working at PP isn’t the most stress-free job ever. She quizzed me on how to avoid HIV and I answered all correct. 100%!! A+

So long story short, I peed in a cup. Which I kinda hate, because I feel like I can never guarantee that I’m actually going to have to pee when they tell me to. But miraculously, I always seem to pull it off. Afterwards, I came in and she took my blood. Ten minutes later, I’m still HIV-negative. Duh.

“HIV-free since 1985” should be my bumper sticker.

I bought more books today. “Around the World in Eighty Days” and “The Castle in Transylvania” both by Jules Verne. That latter is the first book that ever featured Transylvania as a location for characters who may or may not be dead. So I’m kind of excited to read it.

I also spent $85 on products from Origins today. Which!…. I will do another blog about later.

In honor of 80’s night at The Menagerie in Riverside which happens every wednesday, I’m posting an 80’s video. Animotion’s “Obsession.” I actually know the female lead. She’s a great friend and excellent performer.

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment